top of page

21 years, 21 cosas que me hacen bien

That's right. Twenty one, my friends.

I made it.

So, as part of some reflective birthday thankfulness, here's a list of 21 random memories and moments and everything in between that has made/makes me happy in Buenos Aires.

1. Never walking away from a conversation without a kiss goodbye

2. Getting my butt smacked by a small child in a tango club

3. 45% discounts on massive steak dinners for eating before 8pm

4. When the classmate I’d just met passed me the mate without hesitation

5. Playing ukelele for a classroom full of friends who can sing all the Spanish lyrics better than I ever can

6. Gelato

7. My host mom reading aloud every word of the lyrics of Despacito to be written down to make it easier for me to learn

8. Walking around the streets at 3am and passing at least 3-5 people out walking their dogs as if was three in the afternoon

9. Bonding with buskers in the subway because of the ukulele that’s always strapped on my back

10. Turning around to the person behind you in any line and easily making a friend every time

11. Colombian and Venezuelan friends laughing at how porteño my Spanish is in comparison

12. Cakes made up of layers and layers dulce de leche, served with more dulce de leche on the side

13. Teaching English to my Chinese professor using Spanish

14. Empanadas for less than $0.50

15. Classmates opening bags of cookies, crackers, candy and all snacks in between and always passing it around to everyone in the classroom, including the professor

16. Making “the most delicious mate that my host mom has ever had”

17. The time I accidentally told my life story to a taxi driver because I misinterpreted “Tell me (where we’re going)” for “Tell me (what the situation is)”

18. Singing with my host sister singing at the top of our lungs while baking cookies at midnight

19. Getting professional baking lessons from my pastry-school-educated, overly-humble host mom

20. The way the streets roar with cheering and singing during every soccer game

21. Friends that make celebrating my birthday mandatory, no matter how much I try not to

bottom of page